The Ohio Educational Service Center Association (OESCA) has named Jackson High School (JHS) senior Owen White as the Jackson County winner of the Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Award.

White is the son of Kim and Ron White of Jackson. He will be one of the valedictorians for the JHS Class of 2021 and has also received many other academic-related honors while at JHS. After high school graduation, White plans to attend The Ohio State University (OSU)and major in Computer Science as a participant in OSU’s Mount Leadership Society Scholar Program.

Ohio’s county superintendents started the Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Award Program as a way to recognize outstanding senior scholars from across the state. 

In a letter to White, OESCA Executive Director Craig Burford wrote:“Your academic achievements, personal accomplishments and community service have qualified you as one of the best and brightest in the Class of 2021. Congratulations for this well-deserved honor and we wish you much success in your future endeavors.”

White and other Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Award recipients were honored in a virtual awards program on April 27 which featured Billy Woltz, a former Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Award winner, as the guest speaker. 

White is to receive a packet recognizing his award which is to include a certificate and a copy of The Columbus Dispatch which announced the statewide winners and includes their photos.